Free Case Evaluation

Call 940-465-3178 or Submit the Form

We have the experience necessary to fight for you! The Wheeler Law Office is available Monday through Friday from 8 am to 5pm. We offer a free consultation and we are prepared to travel to you to discuss your legal options if, for example, you are currently in jail.

Fill out the free case evaluation form, and we will get back to you shortly.

Underaged DWI in Texas

Getting a DWI as a minor is a very scary experience. You have your life in front of you; you may be in college, beginning a career, or serving in the military. If you are under the age of 21 and have been charged with DWI in Texas, you face the exact same consequences as someone of legal drinking age. Wheeler Law Office takes a realistic stance on the consumption of alcohol by minors. Access to alcohol is easy and drinking and partying is a way of life at that age. But what happens when you find yourself behind the wheel after a few too many with patrol lights flashing in the rearview mirror? Talk to an attorney with Wheeler Law Office in Denton, TX immediately.

Texas Minor DWI Laws

Texas’s DWI laws are some of the strictest in the country. It is estimated that an alcohol-related crash happens every 20 seconds on Texas roads. Therefore, Texas has enacted stiff DWI laws, especially for minors. These laws are not designed to punish, but they are rather designed to educate minors on how to drink responsibly. The Texas minor DUI law is zero tolerance. If you are pulled over and any amount of alcohol is detected in your body, it is an automatic DUI.

What is the Difference Between DUI and DWI?

A minor is charged with DUI when he or she is found to be driving with any amount of alcohol in his or her body. It does not matter if your BAC is less than .08 at the time, if there is alcohol in your system when you are pulled over, you will be charged. A DWI occurs when your BAC is found to be over the legal intoxication level, .08. If you are over the age of 17 and arrested on suspicion of DUI or DWI, you will be charged as an adult and face the same penalties as someone who is of legal drinking age.

Penalties for Minors Charged With DUI or DWI

The penalties for a minor who is charged with DUI include:

  • 60-day license suspension
  • Fines up to $500
  • Community service requirements
  • Mandatory alcohol awareness education

The penalties for a minor who is charged with DWI include:

  • License suspension of up to a year
  • Probation
  • Fines up to $4,000
  • Jail time of up to one year
  • Mandatory alcohol awareness education
  • Installation of Ignition Interlock device on vehicle. Ignition interlock devices require vehicle operators to use a breathalyzer before starting their car. If alcohol is detected, the car will not start.
  • Community service requirements

Future Consequences

Getting charged with a DUI or DWI as a minor can significantly affect your future. It can alter your education, your future career, or current employment. If you have previously been charged with DUI or DWI, you can be facing felony charges. It is vital that you contact a lawyer as soon as you can if you have been arrested.

Wheeler Law Office in Denton, TX offers free consultations for minors who have been charged with DWI and DUI offenses. Our flat-fee pricing and payment plans make it easy for you to have access to aggressive representation in a critical time that can affect the rest of your life. Call us today at (940) 465-3178 or visit our website.

You’ve Got Rights. We Protect Them.

CALL FOR A FREE CONSULTATION      940-465-3178

Wheeler Law Office
Denton Criminal Defense Lawyer
Located at: 101 S. Woodrow Lane, Suite 102
Denton, TX 76205
Phone: (940) 465-3178
Website: http://www.wheelerlawoffices.com